Although I reported to John Tellis that an officer in his employ executed an unlawful eviction, Tellis’s response was to tell me that his deputy had done nothing wrong and that I should sue him.

Assuming that he meant sue the department. Do you think that this response was professional?

John Tellis came to Isabella County after retiring from the Portland Police Department where he was the Commander of the Internal Affairs Department and with this IAD experience, Tellis found it fitting to tell me to sue him?

I told Tellis what the problem was and fully expected him to help get the problem fixed but instead and while shaking my written complaint in his fist, told me his deputy had done nothing wrong and that I should sue him without even looking into my allegations. He did however tell me that he called the Prosecuting Attorney. Tellis told me that the PA told him that if we could prove that we had not been evicted that we should be able to get our home back…

Everyone except the Isabella County Sheriff’s Department seems to know that the burden of proof is supposed to be on the other foot! People are not supposed to be evicted without proof that their actually was an eviction but in our case we were asked to prove that we had not been evicted after we had already been forced out of our home under threat of arrest.

Sheriff Leo Mioduszewski also fielded this complaint and did nothing and is now running for re-election?

Leave a Reply

